Sea Breeze

A 5 track avant garde jazz album (10m ) — released August 18th 2023 on Le Tres Jazz Club

George Otsuka (or Ohtsuka), sadly passed away in March 2020, was one of Japan's most renowned jazz drummers. "Sea Breeze", released in 1971 on the Union label, is his first record in quintet formation. And we can say that George Otsuka knew how to surround himself : Shunzo Ohno is on trumpet and Flugelhorn, Takao Uematsu on tenor sax and soprano, Takashi Mizuhashi on bass and Hideo Ichikawa on electric piano.

If all the tracks on this album are solid, included the astonishing cover of "Fool on the Hill", it is especially "Sea Breeze", the eponymous track opening the album that will make an impression. A super and long jazz-funk track where the five musicians, in perfect osmosis, leave each other enough space to express the full extent of their talent.

For fans of this formidable quintet, another album is available in the Très Jazz Club catalog, "Physical Structure", initially released in 1976 on the Three Blind Mice label.

  • Kudos happily ship all items worldwide.
  • Shipping costs and delivery times are available here.
  • UK items are sent tracked as standard at no extra cost.
  • We aim to dispatch orders placed before 2pm on the same day.
  • We are unable to ship orders on weekends or Bank Holidays.
  • If you purchase a pre-order item amongst an order of in-stock releases, we will typically hold your order until all items are in ready to send.
  • Although we use all reasonable means to ensure that your order is delivered within a specified time, we cannot accept any responsibility for late deliveries due to circumstances outside of our control. We will do our best to inform you of any unexpected delay.